cessation

I

We stood there,

few feet apart at the deserted train station.

My palms cold and damp,

fingers outstretched and reaching towards nothing.

You had a lighter in your hand.

Eyes that were once star speckled

and bright

now they’re just empty.

                                                                                       Speeding.

You left me. I don’t know why I’m sad.

Smoke filled 

Everything is fading. Can’t see.

shades of grey.

 

II

They told us we were like a painting.

Whimsical and full of color,

As if Van Gogh himself had imagined us together in a starry night.

Starving.

Young.

Passionate.

Alive

           In 

love.

Actually, we are not at all like art.

We are a tangled and mad web of nerves.

A burning mess,

that spreads like wildfire throughout my body and my brain

( your body and your brain)

and our

Heart.

III

A heart that is beating

slower each second.

1…2….3….4…

Breathe deeper.

Breath slower.

It hurts.

A heart that is reaching

Climax.

The pounding is incessant.

There is no where to go

but down.

  down, down down.

A heart that is no longer

fertile.

A heart that once removed,

never replaced.

 

IV

I am constantly in

pain.

Pain from holding your hand

feeling numb.

Pain from the static electricity exerted upon my body every time

we kiss.

Pain from those eyes,

looking deeply into mine,

its hypnotic.

   fatal.

Do you feel it too?

I feel

everything that is good,

and everything that is bad.

Everything at the same time.

I feel insane

with or without you.

Hey, where did you go? I’m still talking.

xoxo,

Vanessa M. – finess5 

 

 

 

Leave a comment